Eurograd message

Message posted on 14/09/2021

[TransAsiaSTS] Aihwa Ong Seminar 24 September Vaccine nationalism and diplomacy

                Dear all

TransAsiaSTS and the Deakin Science and Society Network and are really
pleased to share that Professor Aiwha Ong will be giving a highly topical
seminar on the 24th September, with 4S president Professor Emma Kowal as
discussant.

The eventbrite link

has more info, and you can simply join the youtube live


*Can Vaccine Nationalism & Vaccine Diplomacy Co-exist?*
Professor Aihwa Ong

Abstract:

The global demand for Covid-19 vaccines has sparked a discourse that
science nationalism is incompatible with "global health." In a time of
pandemic crisis, fears of national sequestration of biotech technologies
are intensifying. I suggest, however, that the biosciences as state project
and as global public good are complexly entangled and politically fraught
for donor and recipient nations alike.

While pandemics are a global health threat, the technology, production,
deployment and acceptance of vaccines are invariably a matter of politics.
I will highlight the gradients between the owning/making and the giving;
the trade-offs for low-income countries; and whether global health entities
Covax & the Quad lessen or produce new segregations in health access.


Here are some of the timezones
1PM - 2:30 PM (AEST/ GMT+10) Melbourne
8:30 AM - 10 AM (GMT + 5:30) Hyderabad
11:00 AM - 12:30 PM (GMT + 8) Singapore
3:00 PM - 4:30 PM (GMT +12) Wellington
5:00 AM - 6:30 AM Prague
11:00PM - 12:30 AM New York (23 September)
8:00 PM - 9:30 PM San Francisco (23 September)

Warm regards and apologies for any cross-posting

Carina Truyts, on behalf of TransAsiaSTS and the SSN

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"TransAsiaSTS" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
email to transasiasts+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit
https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/transasiasts/CAPONN1bA%2BOtRhSrgLEefKPzJUT1W_HDKsbLKjhom4%3DrUz63kZw%40mail.gmail.com

.

-- 
Best Wishes,

*Aalok Khandekar , **Assistant Professor*
 of *Anthropology*/ *Sociology*
Department of Liberal Arts  | *Department of
Climate Change  *
Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad 
Kandi, Sangareddy-502284, Telangana, India.

Off:* B 316* | *+91 40 2301 **6513* | *aalok@la.iith.ac.in
*
*Twitter  *|* LinkedIn
 *|* Academia
 *|* ResearchGate
*

*Editor-in-Chief, Engaging Science, Technology, and Society
 (2020- )*
*Platform Director, **STS Infrastructures *
_______________________________________________
EASST's Eurograd mailing list
Eurograd (at) lists.easst.net
Unsubscribe or edit subscription options: http://lists.easst.net/listinfo.cgi/eurograd-easst.net

Meet us via https://twitter.com/STSeasst

Report abuses of this list to Eurograd-owner@lists.easst.net
            
view formatted text
Follow by Email