Eurograd message

Message posted on 03/11/2021

The Evolutionary Dynamics of Discursive Knowledge

Dear colleagues,

You are cordially invited to join a slow-read/discussion of the latest=20 open-access book by Loet Leydesdorff , =20 The Evolutionary Dynamics of Discursive Knowledge. The book provides=20 an introduction to the connections between systems theory, evolutionary=20 theory, sociology, STS, communication theory, and cybernetics and its=20 objective is to facilitate interdisciplinary exchange. We will read and=20 discuss about one chapter each month. Scroll down for the schedule.

The book discussion will take place via ZOOM on the third Wednesday of=20 every month, starting at 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 11am EST, 9am MST=20 (**)). The first meeting is=20 scheduled for Wednesday, December 15, 2021. Each ZOOM meeting, one to=20 three scholars will give a brief commentary on the chapter scheduled for=20 that day, followed by an interactive discussion. Each session will last=20 for about two hours.

Please share this email with your networks, especially if you know=20 someone else who might be interested in commenting. Commentaries in the=20 form of a video presentation (maximum 20 minutes) are welcomed,=20 especially from those who cannot join the ZOOM meetings due to=20 international time zone differences. If you would like to act as a=20 commentator for any of the chapters (max 20 minutes, max 7 PPT slides=20 ), please get in touch with one of the=20 event organizers (johnsonmwj1@gmail.com or jaimi.hendrix@gmail.com) to=20 finalize the details.

ZOOM room link: =20

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9116543210?pwd=3DRkJWR0JtaDRVYTRNZE5yUVAxbVQ2Zz09

Reviews of the book:

Schirone, Mark. (2021). Review of: Leydesdorff, Loet. The evolutionary=20 dynamics of discursive knowledge. Communication-theoretical perspectives=20 on an empirical philosophy of science. Cham: Springer Nature, 2021.=20 Information Research, Vol 26 No 3, Review no. R725 [Retrieved from=20 http://www.informationr.net/ir/reviews/revs725.html]

A forthcoming review by Mark Johnson will shortly be available in=20 Cybernetics and Human Knowing.

Additional details:

  • An open-accesscopy of the book is available=20 at:https://rd.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-59951-5 .

  • Email discussions will be archived at=20 https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=3Den. Everyone is welcome to join= =20 the Google group.

  • RSVP to jaimi.hendrix@gmail.com. RSVP is not necessary, but preferred.

  • This event series is hosted by the Club of Remy - Speed Dating of=20 Ideas, a loosely affiliated group of cyberneticians. For more details=20 on the Club of Remy, check out its web site, www.clubofremy.org, or its=20 YouTube channel at =20

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJumBT3J15xhAoNs9CnrSVg/about

  • Each ZOOM session will be recorded and posted in the above-mentioned=20 Club of Remy YouTube channel:=20 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJumBT3J15xhAoNs9CnrSVg/videos=20 .

  • For further information about this event series, contact Mark Johnson=20 (Cybernetics, Univ. of=20 Liverpool) at johnsonmwj1@gmail.com or Margaretha =E2=80=9CJaimi=E2=80=9D H= endrickx at=20 jaimi.hendrix@gmail.com.

Provisional schedule:

For the latest version of the schedule, go to=20 https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=3Den.

Wed, Dec 15, 2021 - Chapter 1 - Knowledge-based Innovation and Social=20 Coordination.

Commentary by Mark W. Johnson =20 (Cybernetics, Univ. of Liverpool, UK).

Wed, Jan 19, 2022 - Chapter 2 - The Communication Turn in Philosophy of=20 Science.

Chapter 3 - Scientific Communication and Codification.

Commentary by Stasa Milojevic (Informatics, Indiana University,=20 Bloomington).

Commentary byMarco Schirone=20 (Univ. of Bor=C3=A5= s,=20 Chalmers Univ, Sweden).

Wed, Feb 16, 2022 - Chapter 4 - Towards a Calculus of Redundancy.

Commentary by Inga Ivanova =20 (Complex Systems, HSE Univ., Moscow, Russia).

Commentary by Larry Richards=20 (Mgmt &=20 Engineering, Indiana Univ. East, USA).

Wed, Mar 16, 2022 - Chapter 5 - Evolutionary & Institutional Triple=20 Helix Models.

Commentary by Lucio Biggiero (Org.=20 Science; Univ. of L'Aquila, Italia).

Commentary by Gene Bellinger =20 (Independent Consultant, SystemsWiki=E2=80=99s Musings, NC, USA).

Commentary by Juzhuo Cai=20 (Mgmt & Business,=20 Tampere Univ., Finland).

Wed, Apr 20, 2022 - Chapter 6 & 7 - Commentators TBA.

Commentary by Helen Lawton Smith=20 (Innova= tion=20 Studies, Birkbeck, London Univ., UK).

Wed, May 18, 2022 - Chapter 8 - Commentators TBA.

Wed, Jun 15, 2022 - Chapter 9 - Commentators TBA.

Commentary byIgone Porto Gomez (Engineering & Organization, Univ. de=20 Deusto, Spain).

Wed, Jul 20, 2022 - Chapter 10 - Cultural and Biological Evolution.

Commentary by Christiane Gebhardt=20 (Drees &=20 Sommer, Zurich, Switzerland)

Wed, Aug 17, 2022 - Chapter 11 - Commentators TBA.

(**) Changes in schedule due to Daylight Saving Time (DST) changes:

Please, synchronize with 5pm Paris/Amsterdam/Berlin/Maribor/Ljubljana=20 time.

Note that in March 2022, the USA moves its clocks 1 hour forward two=20 weeks before the EU countries move their clocks forward. Consequently,=20 in March 2022, the ZOOM meeting will start 1 hour later for those=20 residing in the United States at that time:

- Dec 2021 - Feb 2022: 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 11am EST, 8am PST=20

)

- Mar 2022: 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 12pm EDT, 9am PDT=20

)

- Apr - Aug 2022: 5 pm CEST (4pm BST, 11am EDT, 8am PDT=20

)

To find out when DST changes go into effect for your country, visit=20 https://www.timeanddate.com/time/map/.

-- Dr. Mark William Johnson University of Liverpool

Email: johnsonmwj1@gmail.com Blog: http://dailyimprovisation.blogspot.com

view as plain text
Follow by Email