Eurograd message

Message posted on 09/09/2021

Aihwa Ong Seminar 24 September Science Sovereignty and Science diplomacy

Dear all

TransAsiaSTS and the Deakin Science and Society Network and are really pleased to share that Professor Aiwha Ong will be giving a highly topical seminar on the 24th September, with 4S president Professor Emma Kowal as discussant.

The eventbrite link

has more info, and you can simply join the youtube live

Can Science Sovereignty & Science Diplomacy Co-exist? Professor Aihwa Ong

Abstract:

The global demand for Covid-19 vaccines has sparked a discourse that science nationalism is incompatible with "global health." In a time of pandemic crisis, fears of national sequestration of biotech technologies are intensifying. I suggest, however, that the biosciences as state project and as global public good are complexly entangled and politically fraught for donor and recipient nations alike.

While pandemics are a global health threat, the technology, production, deployment and acceptance of vaccines are invariably a matter of politics. I will highlight the gradients between the owning/making and the giving; the trade-offs for low-income countries; and whether global health entities Covax & the Quad lessen or produce new segregations in health access.

Here are some of the timezones 1PM - 2:30 PM (AEST/ GMT+10) Melbourne 8:30 AM - 10 AM (GMT + 5:30) Hyderabad 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM (GMT + 8) Singapore 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM (GMT +12) Wellington 5:00 AM - 6:30 AM Prague 11:00PM - 12:30 AM New York (23 September) 8:00 PM - 9:30 PM San Francisco (23 September)

Warm regards and apologies for any cross-posting

Carina Truyts, on behalf of TransAsiaSTS and the SSN


EASST's Eurograd mailing list Eurograd (at) lists.easst.net Unsubscribe or edit subscription options: http://lists.easst.net/listinfo.cgi/eurograd-easst.net

Meet us via https://twitter.com/STSeasst

Report abuses of this list to Eurograd-owner@lists.easst.net

view as plain text
Follow by Email