EASST Ethics Committee (ECo)

Annual General Report 2024

As defined by the EASST <u>Code of Ethics</u> (henceforth: the Code) "ECo is an independent authority besides the EASST Council" (Part I).

It started operating in January 2024 upon writing the Code (during 2023) and the internal election of its members (2023). As per the Code, the EASST Council appointed two internal members, chosen among the elected members of the EASST Council (for year 2024¹: Dr. Michela Cozza-Mälardalen University; Dr. Brice Laurent-Mines Paris), and two external members (for the term January 2024-December 2026: Prof. Noortje Marres-University of Warwick; Prof. Huub Dijstelbloem- University of Amsterdam).

The ECo members can be reached at <u>eco@easst.net</u> which is a dedicated Inbox accessible only to the ECo members who check it once a week.

During 2024, ECo handled three cases in total. Due to confidentiality, the matter of each case cannot be disclosed. Hence, the following is a general report about how the cases were handled:

- Case 1: The case was potentially affecting the EASST/4S Conference hosted by the Athena

 Research and Education Institute at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU Amsterdam).
 Hence, the members of the Athena/VU Amsterdam EASST/4S Conference Ethics
 Committee were involved in the process. ECo produced a recommendation for the EASST
 Council based on documentation provided to ECo that also ran confidential hearing sessions with the main parties involved.
- Case 2: ECo produced a recommendation for the EASST Council based on confidential documentation provided to ECo.
- Case 3: ECo was informed about a case that was potentially affecting the EASST/4S Conference hosted by the Athena – Research and Education Institute at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU Amsterdam). Hence, the members of the Athena/VU Amsterdam EASST/4S Conference Ethics Committee were involved in the process. However, upon internal consultation, the EASST Council decided that ECo was not required to formulate any recommendation.

This Report was written in compliance with the Code where stating that:

"The committee makes an Annual General Report to serve as a basis for reflections within the community. Information handled by the ECo will be treated confidentially and will be anonymized and generalized before it is included in the Annual General Report." (Guiding Principle, point 7)

¹ It is worth mentioning that the terms of Dr. Cozza and Dr. Laurent as elected members of EASST expire in December 2024. Hence, two internal members of ECo should be appointed for the term 2025-2027.

"All written communications received by ECo regarding specific situations notified by members of the EASST community are erased forever upon completion of the Annual General Report and its publication on the EASST webpage." (Part II, Point 4.b)

The Report was written by: Dr. Michela Cozza Dr. Brice Laurent Prof. Noortje Marres Prof. Huub Dijstelbloem

Approved by the EASST Council on 19 November 2024